Burdened by Peiri Ann

 

Goodreads Synopsis: “Eighteen-year-old Tracey Warren is a ‘run-of-the-mill’ high school student on the verge of graduation. She has her friends and her fun; she has life all figured out. Or she thought she did.
Her pedestrian reality crashes around her after an innocuous touch from a diabolically handsome stranger. Just one touch from Nathan Newcomb and her head and her world spins out of control. Soon she discovers that the only cure for the uneasy feelings and pain is Nathan himself. A man whose very existence balances between violent chaos and rigidly controlled dangers.

Nathan knows that the life of a woman mated to a burdened Sephlem is destined for peril beyond a human’s reckoning. But Tracey calls to his desire to experience love in spite of the hazards. And Nathan’s impossibly potent magnetism draws Tracey into a bonding that will put her in mortal danger again and again.

Once the pair becomes one, the threat escalates and nowhere is safe. There are enemies that lurk behind every corner. But the greatest danger may be in the bloodlines that course through Nathan’s veins.

Can a love for all time survive or will their burdened souls surrender and fade away?”

Publisher: Peiri Ann

Pages: 350

Review:  I want to say thanks to Xpresso Book Tours and Netgalley for letting read this book for exchange of an honest review. To be honest this was a fairly good book.  I had this book on my currently reading shelf for ever and I just started and finish it today. When it first started I had the vibe of the Significance by Shelly Crane. I loved that book but this book seemed to had and climbing point then it just dropped off and left things dragging out. It got boring around 60% since the main event of the story was over. To me it could have been around 230 or 260 and would have been a better book. I did enjoy the book. It was good but it wasn’t great.

Plot- So I did say this was like Significance. Though everything sort of dropped off. I don’t really know how to describe this plot without giving away too much. I love how there is totally new set of paranormal creatures done here in this book. The past and history of these creatures are really big in the story. These creatures are called Sephlem. I am so happy that the author didn’t do a the typical creatures like vampires and werewolves. She created her whole new species. And maybe that is why this book lost plot is because as a reader and the main character we have to find out about them as we go long. There was a lot of death, backstabbing and betrayed in this book  like no joke every so many pages. It was very tenses and had a lot of drama too.  Sometimes drama is good and keeps the book going but a little over the second half of the book thats all the book lived off is drama,death,backstabbing,and betrayal. Making it quite boring. None of the characters really developed as stronger person and character either making the characters the same the whole entire book.

 

Characters-  Tracey is a 18 year-old human on spring break. She was quite normal until she met Nathan. Tracey seemed like a strong character in the beginning and she then became a little annoying and needy throughout the book even though that was because of the their binding to each other.  Like I said above she didn’t really developed into anything. Nathan is her mate and he was an alright character he seemed like Damon Black. I thought he lost  a lot of his attitude through  the book but he didn’t change drastically. Another character was Glenn  she seemed like the best friend even though she was  annoying and boy she didn’t become any less annoying. I never really liked her through the book. The last character that popped up often was Scott.  He seemed like a really nice guy and then he became very annoying.

Overall-  This was a fairly decent book and I will be continuing this series as I have the next book to read as well. I don’t really have high expectations for the next book because this book was sort of a disappointment.  I just loved this story and I know this will go into better depth as  I continue. I have very conflicted on what to give this book I don’t want to rate it. Its really worth reading but it isn’t the next best book. 

 

One thought on “Burdened by Peiri Ann

  1. Pingback: Tainted by Peiri Ann | Once Upon A Time A Review

Leave a comment