Beacon Angela Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:”***When ignorance is bliss, Bliss is power.***

Tsunamis reduced the USA into a shell of itself, called The Fold. Surviving humans and vampires joined forces to form The Colony, where registered citizens do as they’re told.

They donate blood quarterly and dream of being chosen as Attendees for the Jubilee celebrations, that is, everyone except Macie Breen. With high school graduation near, she’s anxious to ditch the rules in hopes of starting a new life with Thane, an unregistered and also her best friend.

Her hopes fizzle when Macie is selected as an Attendee, forever registered. Any future with Thane…impossible. Being chosen comes with another unexpected price.

Truths about The Colony blaze into ashes and lies when she discovers the vampires haven’t kept their part of the bargain. Worst still, Macie’s life unravels as her stint in the city of Bliss forces her to face daunting truths about who, and what, she really is.”

Author: Angela Brown

Publisher: Evernight Teen

Pages: 222

Release Date: 11-10-14

Review:  I want to say thanks to Xpresso Book Tours for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review. Yes I know this will be another short review. I’m whooped and I will explain more of that. If your reading this on Goodreads please check out my blog for updates about this and such. Besides this lets get our review on.  First off can I say I that I had high hopes for this book. Like I wanted this book to be good. I was so excited to read this book. I was so happy when I got approved of it. Then I started to read the book and boy did I get bored of it. Did I drop? No I didn’t though the fact is I could have just dropped and not thought twice about it. It wasn’t bad like awful. For me there was no action at all. More of a description and look on the future country of the United States.  I think this book was also a little too short for everything the author wanted to do with 222 pages isn’t a lot to get a really good idea and plot lines in one. This idea is amazing. Truth is I wasn’t worried about the fact that it was a vampire book though there was some places where I was thinking House of Night but this is more of a dystopian side of things. Yes it has vampires but this story could survive without  vampires which is nice. Another thing about it was that it had too many stories that it reminded me of.  When I’m reading a book I want to be able to tell apart that story. I want something that will make me know hey this book is cool for what it is. There was nothing that made it stood it out. I wish there was more too it. So I could grasp the story more. I probably won’t continue this series sadly. It had tons of potential but it didn’t happen.

Leave a Reply

