Paper Towns by John Green

Title: Paper Towns

Author: John Green

Publisher: Speak

Pages: 305

Goodreads Synopsis:  “Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…”   

My Review: John Green is like an auto buy author for me. I read all of his books but two of them and I wasn’t really disappointed in it. I loved it so much. I couldn’t stop reading well I did since I was busy and all. I had very high expectations for this book  even though I heard a lot of mixed  things about it. I picked this book up at Walmart and saw the John Green talking about the movie on his vlogs. I was like I need to read this book now.  If you haven’t read a John Green book then where have you been? Anyways his writing style is very easy to connect to. I think he makes his characters very real and not fake to me. This book has tons of lessons in it as well as some amazing quotes I will post my favorites below. I also love how anyone can read John Green’s books and connect to them. I highly recommend this book. This is one my favorites other than Will Grayson ,Will Grayson.  I will also post the movie trailer and the poster below as well as the interview of the John Green on the Today Show.  

The plot was excellent the way he split up the book was into three parts. The first part of the book was all about the revenge plot on Margo’s friends and ex-boyfriend. This part was really one of my favorite parts of the book because we got to know the characters really. And we had the Margo and Q relationship building and it was really nice to see the interactions between these two characters. The next part of the book was a little long and seemed to be the dragging sometimes but then it turned around into some thrilling moments. This whole part I question who is Margo and where is she every time they got a lead it turned into something then it dropped. We also got to know Ben, Lacy, Radar. Rader also had a girlfriend but we didn’t really know her. I love how Q was finding out who the real Margo was.  The last part is where he finally finds her and there is a plot twist.

Q was very easy to relate to. He didn’t really take the risks in life. And I loved how it seemed that Margo wanted him to take the risks and that is why she set all these clues for him. I think that at times he did get annoying because it seemed all he really cared about was Margo. Though you couldn’t blame him because everyone has that one crush.  I really love him as a narrator because you can discover it as  he does and there really isn’t any separation between the plot and his story telling. His two best friends are Ben and Radar. They are both very likable characters. I love how Ben thinks he is a ladies man and its really funny. The way he acts around girls is funny. Radar is like super sweet and kind I’m trying to decide who he reminds me of. He is quirky. They help him find Margo and that’s very nice. Lacy is nice she seems to care for Margo a lot. I love the part in the bathroom where she is drunk but she isn’t to the point of a crazy drunk. 

Overall great book. I can’t wait to see the movie this summer July 24th. I will put extra things below.  

***Rating 5 stars***


 


2 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green

Leave a Reply

