EVE: The Awakening by Jenna Moreci

Title: EVE: The Awakening

Author: Jenna Moreci

Publication Date:  August 12 2015

Pages:  547

Goodreads Synopsis:  Eve is an outcast. A chimera.
After years of abuse and rejection, 19-year-old Evelyn Kingston is ready for a fresh start in a new city, where no one knows her name. The esteemed Billington University in sunny Southern California seems like the perfect place to reinvent herself—to live the life of an ordinary human.

But things at Billington aren’t as they seem. In a school filled with prodigies, socialites, and the leaders of tomorrow, Eve finds that the complex social hierarchy makes passing as a human much harder than she had anticipated. Even worse, Billington is harboring a secret of its own: Interlopers have infiltrated the university, and their sinister plans are targeted at chimeras—like Eve.

Instantly, Eve’s new life takes a drastic turn. In a time filled with chaos, is the world focusing on the wrong enemy? And when the situation at Billington shifts from hostile to dangerous, will Eve remain in the shadows, or rise up and fight?”

My Review:  I want to thank Jenna Moreci for letting me read her book for exchange of an honest review.  There is so much I want to say about this book, because it’s a wonderful dystopian/ science fiction book.  Before you go any further you are probably thinking Cheyenne you don’t give bad reviews to books that often you like everything you read.  My lovely followers you are right I don’t give bad reviews out that much because I know what I like and what I don’t like when it comes to a book. Anyways I’m getting off topic this was one of the best book I have read this year.  It’s up there with top books I read of all time. Honestly this book has everything that an amazing book needs.

A plot is a crucial part of any book the plot can be amazing, but the what the writer does with it is the future of the it.  Some books hit the spot of the plot and this book is one of them.  So going into the book you already know that books is centered around Chimeras and Interlopers and basically you have the one girl Eve who has to save the world. I’m not spoiling anything for you because its simple you see that in a lot of dystopian books.  Sure that is part of the plot, but its not like other books out there trust me.  Everything is developed and detail it is very well balanced with everything.  There is just the right amount of character, dialogue, world building, romance, and comedy.  Jenna did a fantastic job doing this. Not only this she made the reader feel like they are part of the story.  I honestly felt like I was watching it as a movie in my head. I love when author can do this to me  and make me feel entertained.   I can’t explain how well the plot was done.  This book was one giant roller coaster ride it will have you on your seats begging for more.

Without loveable characters a story will be boring and not entertaining.  This book has those characters that you get attached to. I was so afraid that the character that I really liked was going to die, but he didn’t.  This book had that awesome crew of people that all eyes on. Eve is the main character and her life is sucky really bad.  It’s like Ruby from The Darkest Minds they should go have a cup tea together sometime and discuss how bad their lives are no joke its really bad. Just like Ruby she goes through a lot of character development if not more then Ruby.  You can see her interactions change slowly. I love how she doesn’t change too much at once, but gradually over time.  Oh and by the way she is a Chimera.Neighborhood hottie Jason is not a douche. That is so nice for change.  He is very protective over Eve and their relationship becomes more in the end of the book.  Can we just be thankful that this isn’t a instant love neither does it take a whole book for them to kiss.  Another cool fact is the plot isn’t overcome by the romance, basically they aren’t kissing each other the whole book and surprising they can live without each other for a more than a few hours.  This romance is realistic and that is different. Next in the crew is the goofball, Sancho he likes to make things explode. To be honest I wouldn’t want him near anything explosive.  His favorite two favorite words are “Holy Balls”  He brings the comic relief to the group. After that we have Percy he is kind, cute and funny. There is one scene that is so funny with him in it. I was laughing, my butt off.  Then we have the brains JJ she is a hacker a really good one.  There we have the ban of misfits who make the story good.

Expectations for the next book would be more relationship development between Eve and Jason. Maybe a partnership with Maddison she is the mean girl of the story, I don’t really think this happen, but I’m not sure.  I want a villain one that is so bad they dare not say his name or hers.  Maybe one you love to hate?   I don’t know honestly.  I swear she can keep doing what she is doing because if her first book is good her other books can only get better. I’m really excited to read more books by her.


Read the first THREE chapters for free

Like what you read? Pre-Order it on Amazon

2 thoughts on “EVE: The Awakening by Jenna Moreci

  1. Pingback: The New Kid on The Block #1 | Once Upon A Time A Review

  2. Pingback: Jenna Moreci Interview |

Leave a Reply

