My Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards

wpid-wp-1443637777250.jpeg

Title: My Secret to Tell

Author: Natalie D. Richards

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 306

Publication Date: 10-06-15

Synopsis: There was blood on his hands. Where was the guilt in his eyes?

Emmie’s had a crush on her best friend’s brother forever. Deacon is the town bad boy who’s always in trouble, but she sees his soft side when he volunteers with her at the local animal shelter. She doesn’t think he’s dangerous…until he shows up in her bedroom with blood on his hands.

Deacon’s father has been violently assaulted and Deacon is suspect number one. Emmie’s smart enough to know how this looks, but she also knows Deacon’s biggest secret—he’s paralyzed by the sight of blood. She’s sure he didn’t do this. Or did he? Because even Deacon’s own sister thinks he’s guilty…”

coollogo_com-52114579

 

I want to say thank for Sourcebooks Fire for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review. Honestly I really wasn’t sure what to think going into this book. The cover is pretty yeah, but the synopsis is what really made me want to read this book.  Before I started to read this book I saw some mixed ratings and that made me a little afraid to pursue this book. In the end though I’m really happy that I read this book after haven’t reading anything in since Eve:The Awakening. Anyways this book turned out to be really good it would have been a five star book, but it was a little slow to get into, but once you did it went fantastic.

The genre of this book is mystery and suspense and I honestly don’t have to much luck with these kind of books because they are so predictable and don’t really have that heart pounding feeling like a good mystery has. The biggest question I was thinking this whole book was who done it? I did guess it right, but then it thrown me off with other people who were the red herrings? It reminded of me of a watching a movie and seeing everything play out in my head.  At first I wished there was some more flashbacks to early that day in the beginning of the book, but it didn’t which is okay, it did make up for it as it went along and you could see the relationships between everyone and how it effected them.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel parents in young adult books get really annoying because they don’t listen to no reason and the characters don’t lash out.  The parent’s in the Mara Dyer trilogy were the worse to me because they didn’t listen to reason at all. I wanted to strangle them so much. If only they would just listen to what she had to say then most of things wouldn’t happen. Anyways in this book the parents were up there with Mara parents. I wish I could reach in there and strangle them to get them to see the truth in the end they did.

The main character Emmie had a lot of character building throughout the story and I loved how we saw her go from a people please to be a little selfish every now and then. Deacon also had some character building too. I didn’t really feel like I was reading a book making the author’s writing style very unique because it seemed like a movie like I mention above. It wasn’t quite a 5 star read it, but it almost was. I still highly recommend this book if your in a mood of a suspense novel.

coollogo_com-33357811

You guys are just going to have to pick up the book and read it for yourselves to know what I’m talking  about then you can come back chat with me about it. Does this book sound like something you will read? Do you like mystery books? What book are you looking forward to read in the month of October?

 

wpid-wp-1437072016629.jpeg

2 thoughts on “My Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards

Leave a Reply

