The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Title: The Host (Host #1)

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Average Rating 3.84

Publisher: Back Bay Books

Pages: 656

Publication Date: 01-13-2013

Synopsis: “Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away.

Our world has been invaded by an unseen enemy that takes over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. But Wanderer, the invading “soul” who occupies Melanie’s body, finds its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Soon Wanderer and Melanie-reluctant allies-set off to search for the man they both love.

Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOSTis a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.”

 

coollogo_com-52114579

I’m going to let you guys know I read the movie edition of the book, but I do have both editions of the book. What can I say I got them for really cheap. Don’t shoot me on this,but I did watch the movie before reading the book. Where to start ,I was very skeptical reading this book when it was ‘popular’ because I was just coming off that Twilight high and I didn’t want this book to be ruined for me. I really enjoyed myself so much reading the book and it turned out to be a great book. I did like the movie better than the book, but I did see it first. I think watching the movie made me not like the it as much.  The action scenes in the book really came alive on the big screen and made very easy to picture and get the thrill of it instead of the book.

The book had a lot of things going for it. First it was published at a time where there wasn’t many alien books out there.  In the beginning of the book you could feel that struggle for who is going to have the body and neither one of them wouldn’t stop fighting. Throughout the book you could sense a relationship starting between Wanda and Melanie and I really loved that.  Another thing I really enjoyed was learning about Melanie’s pass through little clips those were one of my favorite parts to read about.  I fully captured the essence of the book and it had me hooked from the very beginning.  I felt this book seemed a lot more developed than Twilight and shows how Stephanie grew as an author.   I mention somewhere else my favorite scene of the whole entire book. I’m not saying because that would be a spoiler your just going to have to pick of the book and read it yourself.

I want the second book now. I can’t wait to see what happens in the rest of the books whenever they come out.  It wasn’t quite a 5 star read. I did enjoy and had fun reading it. coollogo_com-33357811

Have you read this book? What book are you currently reading? Any good recommendations if so comment below? I love interacting with you guys. 🙂

wpid-wp-1437072016629.jpeg

2 thoughts on “The Host by Stephanie Meyer

    • I loved Twilight and it will always have a place in my heart. You could tell she matured as an author in this book though which is the goal of any author to become better as they go along in their careers. I’m hoping the next books will be even better when they come out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

