The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Title: The Wrath & The Dawn

Author: Renée Ahdieh

Average Rating: 4.22

Pages: 388

Publishers: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: 05-12-15

Synopsis: One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.”

 

coollogo_com-52114579

I just got done reading this book and wow like wow. I’m speechless. I have no clue on where to start about discussing this fantastic book it honestly was one of the best books I read this year. I can’t stress the need for you to go pick this book up and read it.  I heard  a lot of great things about this book since it came out. I finally got an ebook version and read.  There wasn’t one thing that I didn’t love about the book everything was perfect about it. I expected it to be a great book, but my expectations for blown away for this book.

The relationship between Shahrzad and Khalid is beautifully done. There wasn’t insta love and there wasn’t a triangle going on. You could see the struggle of wanting to love him, but hate him at the same time. Throughout the story it builds into a hate into a love while still having that struggle. It wasn’t like those books where she loves him one moment and hates him the next, but more of the her mind saying hey he this is wrong I hate the guy. Wrong!!! There was many different point of reviews throughout the story and some of the reviews I read about the book said it was confusing. I wouldn’t say it was confusing it was all connected to each other. You saw what other people felt about Khalid who really didn’t know him. The whole entire book I wanted to know why? I mean I figured what it was, but I love how Shahrzad never thought of it because it kept the romance and relationship interesting to say the least.

Shahrzad was a great main character.  There wasn’t nothing about her that made me annoyed in any shape of form. I got to say she was very head strong and said what she thought. Never once did she played the damsel in distress or the love sick puppy card. I think she developed a lot throughout the book because she learned not to judge Khalid. Reading through her eyes was the best honestly. It’s so hard to explain the authors writing style because it’s amazing. Khalid is the ‘villain’ on some levels. He had a really crappy life. I felt so bad for him and truthfully he just needed someone to take the time to get to know him. Shahrzad was good for him. She gave him a friend and wife something he needed. At first you really wanted to not like him, but then you began to understand which is great.

My expectations for the next book is one my favorite sections to do because I get to rant about what needs to happen. There may or not be spoilers in this section today so there’s a heads up. Shahrzad better do some magic and break that curse by the end of the book. I’m being serious I mean like Khalid and Shahrzad are going to be together forever. They just have to be.  I really want to say stop her father, but I’m hoping that will be in the last book, because I’m more focus on their relationship. Since I’m in a generous mood I’m hoping Tariq can find someone to date. I know I’m so nice to let him have a chance with a relationship :D. Overall this was a fantastic read. It was beautifully written and dragged me in from the very first page. I highly recommend you give this a shot because you won’t regret it.

coollogo_com-28967371

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts on it? Like always please feel free to comment back 🙂

wpid-wp-1437072016629.jpeg

2 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

  1. This sounds amazing! Definitely adding it to my TBR 🙂 I didn’t read what needs to happen next, because I can’t have it spoiled for me if I end up loving it as much as you did

    Like

    • I love this book so much. It was fantastic and nothing like ever read. I can’t really explain how different it actually is because it wouldn’t do it justice, but I hope you love it as much as I did.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

