The Kill Order (Maze Runner #0.5)

Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive.

Blurb from Goodreads

Kill Order

I read the Maze Runner series a while ago, without realising there was a prequel. When I discovered the prequel, I was SO EXCITED. And yes, it lived up to my expectations.

Dashner is an amazing author. He describes things so that you’re having nightmares weeks after. Well, okay, maybe he isn’t THAT good. But trust me, when he wants you to be scared, you’re scared. I could picture absolutely every little thing that went on while reading this book. And man, were there a lot of things going on! There was a new exciting twist every other chapter, leaving me on the edge of my seat for most of the book. Sure, it lagged in parts, but what book doesn’t? I was dropped right into that world with Mark, and I didn’t want to leave.

Okay, maybe I didn’t want to stay with Mark as such. He was a bit flat to me. I wanted him to have a purpose, not just wanting to survive. The romance was sweet, but he’s a teenager. These two acted like they wanted to get married, but I couldn’t see them being together outside of this life-or-death situation. The same goes with Alec’s “romance”. They were all focused on surviving, with occasional loving each other in between. Sorry, but that isn’t a romance. That’s basic survival instincts, and it doesn’t make for any exciting character development.

I did like how it set up the Maze Runner though. I think that was one of the main focuses of the book, so it was done really well. I liked getting an insight into all the confusing things that happened through the trilogy. It left a lot of loose ends, but reading this prequel meant some were tied up.

With a better cast of characters, I could have really loved this book. Unfortunately, I need someone to be in love with for me to love a book, no matter how good the setting and plot are

coollogo_com-5534731

Have any of you read this book, or the rest of the series? What did you think?

~Victoria (I’ll make a name thing soon, I promise!)

Leave a Reply

