The Reluctant Sacrifice

First, I’d like to say a huge thanks to Kerr-Ann Dempster for giving me a free copy of her book for review!

Holy moly this book! Honestly, I was not expecting to love it as much as I did.

This book is full of fantastic world building, and amazing supernatual elements. It’s written from the point of view of a Jumper – someone who can make her soul jump from body to body. That on it’s own is a great idea! Then, she’s being seen as the “sacrifice”, someone who will save the world once she’s killed. Funnily enough, she’s not super keen on letting herself be caught. So, of course, she’s being chased. Not by regular bad guys, of course. By bad guys who can turn into hawks, and have a whole variety of other powers. BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE! Part of this gang includes her own sister, and a boy she once considered her best friend. Who she may or may not be in love with. Could it be any more cool? There was so much magic going on, but it was all really well explained. I felt like you could drop me in that world, and I would be able to fit in and understand it all.

Straight away, we were thrown into action. I was concerned that I was missing the first book somehow, since there was so much going on on the first page. And not in a “I’m so confused, help!” way. In a “I need answers now” way. Which is a good thing! The action was what kept me hooked on this book. Every time you thought there was going to be a lull, we had a surprise bad guy pop up, or a fight between the already existing bad guys.

There was one thing I really didn’t like about this book – the romance. You know the ex-best-friend I mentione before? Well, we had a love triangle with him (Joshua) and Coy, another guy on Joshua’s team. Neither of them were very appealing, and I think Aubrey can do a lot better. Unfortunately, she didn’t agree, and her best friend Tessa was always there to remind her how very hot they both were. Without the romance, I could have really loved this book. Instead, I found myself skipping through those parts to get back to the action.

I’m actually not sure if this is a series or not. To me, I felt like there were some unanswered questions. Yeah, the epilogue gave us a little happy ending. But not enough for me to be satisfied. I really want to get back into that world. For now, I guess I’ll have to satisfy myself with reading her other book…

https://static.wixstatic.com/media/fb65ef_81f6205acadc4d2fbd0d94b653ded82d.jpg/v1/fit/w_390,h_585,q_75,usm_0.50_1.20_0.00/fb65ef_81f6205acadc4d2fbd0d94b653ded82d.jpg

Add it on Goodreads here

Check out Kerr-Ann here

And tell me your thoughts on this book! Have you read it, or anything else similar? Do you think you want to read it?

2 thoughts on “The Reluctant Sacrifice

Leave a Reply

