Cover Lust and Friday Finds

Hi everyone, Victoria here! Today I’m participating in two weekly memes – Cover Lust hosted by Alice Reeds and Friday Finds hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

Friday Finds showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever!

Friday Finds

Cover Lust Friday is a new weekly meme that’s all about covers. Pick a cover that stands out to you, add your reason why you’ve chosen that particular one or what you like about it.

Cover Lust Friday

Honestly, it’s probably not a very good idea to join either of these. They just encourage me to add more books to my TBR… Oops!

Anyway, there are two books that I’ve recently added to my TBR, both thanks to recommednations on Goodreads (cheeky self promo). The first is Black Moon by Kenneth Calhoun. It’s a sci-fi/dystopia book, about an insomnia epidemic. It looks AMAZING. And look how cool the cover is! I don’t know why, but I really like eyes on covers. Yes, they’re creepy, but it’s like they’re staring and me and begging me to read them. I also really like the font on this. It’s quite… Spiky? I guess that’s the right word? And that works with the type of book it is.

Black Moon

The second book is Loving Day by Mat Johnson. It has a completely different feel to Black Moon, being a contemporary. I was drawn to this one because it’s so different to anything else I’ve read. It’s focused around race, but also death. And not death BECAUSE of race, just two separate things that happen to come together. The yellow on the cover makes it look so bright and cheerful, especially with that flower. But the bold, black text and the lightening bolts make me wonder if something else is going on behind the happiness. I guess I’ll have to wait and see!

Loving Day

If you guys like this post, make sure to let me know! Cheyenne and I are always trying out new things to try and improve this blog, but we need to know what you guys want. So let us know!

And if any of you participated in either of these memes, feel free to send me a link to your posts! Have you read either of the books? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

