Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling Review

Title: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets(Harry Potter #2)

Author: J. K. Rowling

Pages: 341

Publication Date: 07-01-1999

Publisher:  Arthur A. Levine Books

Average Rating: 4.33

Goodread’s Synopsis: “All Harry Potter wants is to get away from the Dursleys and go back to Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby – who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects… Harry Potter himself.” 

coollogo_com-52114579

***Actual Rating 4.5 stars****

I really enjoy reading this book. I did like a lot better than the first book you could see the improvement in her writing from the first book and the second book. I know as I finish continue to finish off the series her writing will become better and better. I think this book would have been a five star read if the plot was a little clearer for me. I did notice the plot in this book. Unlike the first book I wasn’t sure what the plot was. Other than that nothing really went wrong for me throughout the book.

I enjoy reading about the characters and see the character growth in them. I think all of them are maturing really well. I know they will get better as I go along with the series. One of the characters that had the most improvement from the first book was Hermione. In the beginning she was really uptight and she still is, but you can tell it isn’t as bad as the before. Of course all the characters are improving, but she had the most drastic change so far. All of the characters are great and I don’t think there isn’t a character that isn’t really needed in the book. I’m excited to see what happens to them in the books to come.

There was a lot of a little red herrings for the main problem in the book. I just realize that and now that I think about it that is really cool. I don’t see that happen in books often because a lot of the times they are predictable. There was this one part though toward the end that Harry Potter had a blond moment to me. Honestly I wish I could have slapped him and then he would be able to get to the main action part. Instead taking his good old time chatting. I won’t go into too much detail about that part, but that made me a little frustrated.

I will be continuing the series. I’m 20% through the third book. I can’t wait to see what happens and experience everything that everyone else did. I’m glad that I decided to read the books despite not liking the movies. What are your thoughts on Harry Potter? Stay tune for reviews for books 3-7.

wpid-wp-1437072016629.jpeg

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling Review

Leave a Reply

